03
Jul
08

Why I Love Pun (Capital Punishment 10th Anniversary Edition)

(Pun’s wife talking ’bout CP’s 10th Anniversary)

Here’s a little shit about what CP means to me.

I remember first hearing Twinz (Deep Cover ’98), which is one of the illest motherfucking tracks ever recorded, I wasn’t ready for the shit, nah mean? It was like my first orgasm (really). I had downloaded “”In Memory of Pun, Vol. 1” by J-Love because Termanology fucked with Pun, and I was looking him up on YouTube when I found Twinz.

Anyway, I started playing it and I thought it was just OK, so I got up to go the bathroom and “dead in the middle of little Italy, little did we know that we riddled some middlemen who didn’t do diddle.” Yes, I said that off memory.

Anyway, I fell over. Really. It was just so un-fucking-believably ill that it shocked me. I listened to Twinz probably 50 more times that day.

My birthday was coming up, so I got Capital Punishment and Yeeeah Baby (word to the wise: don’t buy YB) and loved the shit more than anything.

Super Lyrical especially blew my mind. Pun’s spit was even nicer than on Twinz, which is pretty much impossible.

Blew my fucking mind.

RIP Punisher

PS Here’s a list of the classics (i.e. some of the best songs ever recorded in any genre) appearing on Capital Punishment, for those who are just now hearing about the shit: Twinz (Deep Cover ’98), Super Lyrical, You Came Up, Dream Shatterer, I’m Not A Player, You Ain’t A Killer.

1 Response to “Why I Love Pun (Capital Punishment 10th Anniversary Edition)”


  1. July 3, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog.

    Tim Ramsey


Leave a Reply

